Losing my crojo 

I think my crojo has gone on a temporary holiday. I haven’t crocheted for a good few weeks now. I’ve been full of good intentions but when it’s come to actually grabbing a hook and a ball of yarn, it’s just not happened. The last thing I made were some cotton coasters. I only just got round to taking a photo of them today, they’ve been sitting on the dresser, patiently waiting for their snap happy creator to share them with the world. That’s not like me either, I’m usually there with my iPhone at the ready, the second a project is finished.

My whole coaster journey started in the middle of April would you believe!


And it was on my mental to-do list way before that. Maybe my crojo has been absent for longer than I realised. I can’t remember how long it took me, but I produced a little collection of different styles of coaster.


Quite a happy, bright & colourful sight when I look at them here.

Once these were done, I was then meant to start making a set of each design to build up my stock of ready-to-sell items. Well instead I got stuck into many, many niggly little jobs around the house. You know the ones where for possibly years, you’ve been saying, “I must do that” every time you see it. I’ve actually done quite well and I’m feeling quite proud of my achievements. I’m not done yet but can see the light at the end of the tunnel. My mind is feeling a lot more organised, so I’m hoping if I get a few more jobs done, my crochet urges might come back with a vengeance. I think maybe there’s something psychological going on, like I shouldn’t be sitting there crocheting while there’s jobs to be done. I’ve often felt pangs of guilt when I’ve left dishes piling up on the side while I’ve been hooking away.

Anyway, in very small gaps between domestic duties , I managed to get one set done, it felt like it took me forever.


I don’t know when I’ll get cracking on more coasters yet. I’d kind of like to start work again on a blanket I started over 2 years ago. A blanket for me! I don’t actually have much in the way of crocheted items for me so it would be nice. It is a real labour of love though. I’ll be sure to show you my progress next time, that’s if my crojo ever comes back!

5 thoughts on “Losing my crojo ”

  1. Oh no, I hope your crojo returns soon but your coasters are lovely. I know what you mean though – it is difficult to split time to get everything done. I always end up dashing round an hour before school pick up trying to get things done. Hxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s super tough 😔 I hope that your crojo comes back fast. When I don’t feel motivated to crochet I try to switch crafts for a little bit and most of the time it works. Probably because I can’t sit still for 2 minutes without having some kind of project in my hands 😂 sending you positive crochet vibes

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

